My Account Permission Set

APPLIES TO

All Products, All Editions

Overview

The profile settings under “My Account” manage what the user is able to do with their account information in the portal. It controls the visibility and functionality of fields on the My Account page.

To find these profile settings navigate to Users > Profiles, select the profile of choice, and click edit. Then navigate to the My Account tab.

A description of each of these settings can be found below in the order they appear under each heading.

Account Summary Permission

Level Description
None The user cannot view their account summary information.
View The user can view account summary information which includes name, account balance, last payment date, credit balance.

Invoice History Permission

Level Description
None The user cannot view their invoice history information.
View The user can view their invoice history information which includes invoice date, amount, balance, and pdf download.

ACH Payment Methods Permission

Level Description
None  
Create  
View  
Edit  
Full  

 

  • If set to “View” this allows the user to view their ACH payment methods in their portal.
  • If set to “Create” this allows the user to add an ACH payment method to their account.
  • If set to “Edit” this allows the user to edit an existing ACH payment method.
  • If set to "Full" the user can do all of the above.
  • If set to "None" the user cannot use or see ACH as a payment method at all.

Bank Transfer Payment Methods Permission

Level Description
None  
Create  
View  
Edit  
Full  

 

  • If set to “View” this allows the user to view their various bank transfer payment methods in their portal.
  • If set to “Create” this allows the user to add new bank transfer payment methods to their account. (This could include Direct Debit UK, SEPA, or PAD.)
  • If set to “Edit” this allows the user to edit an existing bank transfer payment method.
  • If set to "Full" the user can do all of the above.
  • If set to "None" the user cannot use or see bank transfer as a payment method at all.

Credit Card Payment Methods Permission

Level Description
None The user cannot use or see the credit card payment method.
Create The user can add a new credit card payment method to their account.
View The user can view their credit card payment methods on file.
Edit The user can edit an existing credit card on file as well as create new ones.
Full The user has full access to create, view, edit, and delete their credit card payment methods on file.

 

  • If set to “View” this allows the user to view their credit card payment methods in the portal.
  • If set to “Create” this allows the user to add a new credit card payment method to their account.
  • If set to “Edit” this allows the user to edit an existing credit card payment method.
  • If set to "Full" the user can do all of the above.
  • If set to "None" the user cannot use or see credit card as a payment method at all.

Control AutoPay Permission

  • If set to “Full” this allows the user to turn on/off auto-pay for their account with a toggle.
  • If set to "None, the user will not have the toggle to perform this ability.

Set Default Payment Method (Adding/Paying)

  • If set to “Yes” the default payment method will be automatically updated to the payment method in use when adding a new payment or makeing a payment.
  • If set to "No" the default payment method will not automatically update and it will reserve the original default method set by the user.

Updating Default Payment Method Notice

  • If set to “Yes” a dialog box will pop up to notify the user when their default payment method has been automatically updated. This only applies when the default payment method is automatically changed via the Set Default Payment Method (Adding/Paying) being set to "Yes". Manually updating the default payment method will not cause this dialog box to show.
  • If set to "No" the user will not receive a dialog box pop up to notify them when their default payment method was automatically updated.

One-Time Purchase Configurable Permission

  • If set to “Full” it allows the user to select a checkbox to decide whether or not their payment method will be a one-time purchase (whereas their card information is not saved after the transaction).
  • If set to "None" the user will not have this checkbox.

One-Time Persistent Permission

  • If set to “Full” the user's purchases are automatically one-time payments and the payment method is not saved after the transaction. No checkbox is displayed for the user to enable this.
  • If set to "None" the user's purchases are not automated to be one-time payments.

Payment History Permission

  • If set to “View” this allows the user to see payment history information (including the date, the payment method and the payment applied etc.) in their portal.
  • If set to "None" the user view their payment history.

Tax Permission

  • If set to “View” this allows the user to see the Tax Exemption Certificate upload on their My Account page.
  • If set to "None" the user cannot see the Tax Exemption Certificate upload.
  • For more information, view Avalara CertCapture Integration

Contact Permission

  • If set to “View” this allows the user to see their contact information.
  • If set to "None" the contact information section will not be displayed.

Default Bill To Permission

  • If set to "View" this allows the user to see the Bill To contact information without making edits.
  • If set to “Edit” this allows the user to edit Bill To information (including the address, name, etc.)
  • If set to "None" the Bill To contact will not be shown.

Bill To Email Address Permission

  • If set to “View” this allows the user to view but not edit their email address, regardless of the other Bill To permissions.
  • If set to “Edit” this allows the user to edit their email address regardless of the other Bill To permissions.
  • If set to "None" the email address will be omitted from the Bill To contact information.

Bill To Phone Number Permission

  • If set to “View” it allows the user to view but not edit their Bill To phone number, regardless of the other Bill To permissions.
  • If set to “Edit” it allows the user to edit their Bill To phone number regardless of the other Bill To permissions.
  • If set to "None" the phone number field will be omitted from the Bill To contact info.

Default Sold To Permission

  • If set to "View" this allows the user to see the Sold To contact information without making edits.
  • If set to “Edit” this allows the user to edit their Sold To contact information (including the address, name, etc.)
  • If set to "None" the Sold To contact will not be shown.

Sold To Email Address Permission

  • If set to “View” this allows the user to view but not edit their email address, regardless of the other Sold To permissions.
  • If set to “Edit” this allows the user to edit their email address regardless of the other Sold To permissions.
  • If set to "None" the email address will be omitted from the Sold To contact information.

Sold To Phone Number Permission

  • If set to “View” this allows the user to view but not edit their phone number, regardless of the other Sold To permissions.
  • If set to “Edit” this allows the user to edit their phone number regardless of the other Sold To permissions.
  • If set to "None" the phone number will be omitted from the Sold To contact information.

More

Related articles include: